Skip to main content

'Irish Times' journalists and cartoonist win TV3 awards

Stephen Mangan - Irish Times

TWO JOURNALISTS from The Irish Times and the newspaper’s political cartoonist received prizes in the TV3 Media Awards, announced on the station’s Tonight with Vincent Browne programme.

Irish Times columnist Fintan O’Toole was voted journalist of the year, while cartoonist Martyn Turner was recognised with an outstanding contribution award.

The Irish Times marine correspondent Lorna Siggins was winner of the book of the year for her book on the Corrib gas controversy, Once Upon a Time in the West . The judges were TV3 presenter Sinéad Desmond, broadcaster Ivan Yates, DIT journalism lecturer Harry Browne and Marie Moran from UCD.

Other winners included Irish Daily Star editor Gerard Colleran, who accepted the award for newspaper of the year. David McWilliams took story of the year for his work on the global financial crisis.